I can make the bad guys good for a weekend

Lucy’s current musical hyperfixation is Taylor Swift. We have watched The Eras Tour on Disney+ many many times. I say ‘we’; Lucy watches it, if Jack or I are in the room, we ignore it/have headphones on.

I think Taylor Swift has a couple of catchy songs and I have caught myself singing along to a chorus or two. My music taste for the whole is still mostly rooted in the 80s and Madonna is more my thing. Jack, on the other hand, listens to classical and opera – Bach, Puccini and Rachmaninoff are much more his thing than anything pop/from this century.

So you can imagine me and Lucy’s amusement earlier today when we caught Jack whistling Blank Space.

Lucy & I had just got in from yoga, Jack was in the kitchen loading and unloading the dishwasher, whistling absent-mindedly to himself (he does that a lot) and when we realised what he was whistling, I burst out laughing. He stopped and frowned at me, Lucy asked him what he was whistling but, as is typical, he didn’t know. And we weren’t going to tell him. But as we left him, we heard him start up again!

Maybe he was punking us, I don’t know. But I love that my 71-year-old opera loving husband is whistling a Taylor Swift song and it amuses me immensely. I love that giant dork of a man.

(For anyone who’s new around here and doesn’t know us – we’re a closed poly triad; Jack is my husband and Lucy is our girlfriend)

Leave a comment